Day One

It started with a blue T-shirt, so small you could barely fit a frisbee in it. It was a gift for my four-year old daughter from a relative, and but for the six multicolored letters below the palm tree and the grinning camel, it probably would have registered not a single wayward glance from anyone, let alone my wife, my little girl’s mother.

Instead, my daughter frolicked around Brooklyn the other day with the word “Israel” emblazoned on her tiny chest, while 5,600 miles away it was killing Palestinian children her own age with missiles the US helped supply. Some say their deaths are Hamas’ fault for using them as human shields. Some say it’s the Israelis’ for wielding wildly disproportionate force to neutralize Hamas’ missiles fired the other way, into Israeli neighborhoods. [Read more]

http://wp.me/p4sUqu-r7 – Michael’s Blog

